Skip to main content

Facility Recognition Process and Applications

It is essential that all hospitals have appropriately trained staff, effective processes (policies, guidelines, training requirements, and quality improvement initiatives), and resources (medications, supplies, and equipment) to care for children who present to the emergency department (ED). The federal EMS for Children (EMSC) program has defined a set of performance measures that each state needs to work to achieve, including performance measures requiring each state to have standardized systems that recognize hospitals capable of stabilizing and/or managing pediatric medical and trauma emergencies. Illinois’ Pediatric Facility Recognition program assists the state in meeting these measures and assists hospitals in meeting core criteria that supports their readiness and capabilities to effectively deliver pediatric emergency, critical, and specialty care.

Since 1998, more than 100 Illinois hospitals and three Indiana hospitals have received recognition by the Illinois Department of Public Health for having the essential resources and capabilities in place to meet the emergency and critical care needs of seriously ill and injured children.

Hospitals are designated at one of three levels:

Pediatric Critical Care Center

Facilities that have a pediatric intensive care unit and can provide specialty inpatient services for the pediatric patient can seek recognition as a Pediatric Critical Care Center (PCCC). Note that those centers applying for the PCCC level must also have attained and maintain EDAP status.

Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics

Hospitals that can provide comprehensive emergency services and meet pediatric emergency care requirements are recognized as an Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (EDAP).

Standby Emergency Department for Pediatrics

The Standby Emergency Department for Pediatrics (SEDP) recognition is for hospitals that can provide initial stabilization measures and have transfer agreements in place when more definitive care is needed.

Hospitals seeking to receive designation need to submit an application. They will then receive a site visit by the EMSC program staff to verify that they are capable of meeting key pediatric care standards outlined in EMS Administrative Code.

After initial designation, hospitals undergo a renewal process every four years, which involves submission of a renewal application packet (EDAP, SEDP, or PCCC level) and a site visit (Site Survey Schedule by Region).


Laws & Rules