Skip to main content

Pediatric Educational Activity Credit

Physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, and physician assistants at hospitals recognized by IDPH as a as a Pediatric Critical Care Center (PCCC), Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (EDAP), or Standby Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (SEDP) are required to meet pediatric specific continuing education requirements (as outlined in EMS Administrative Code, Sections 515.4000, 515.4010 and 515.4020).

Listed below are the number of pediatric continuing education (CE) hours that the Illinois EMSC Facility Recognition Committee has determined for quality improvement meetings and various standardized courses that can be used towards meeting PCCC, EDAP, and SEDP requirements.

Category Activity # of Pediatric CE hours that can apply to PCCC/EDAP/SEDP requirements
Acceptable continuing education (Verified attendance and/or successful completion of education is required).
NOTE: The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation can provide guidance related to criteria for acceptable Category I or II credit.

Physician/Nurse Practitioner/Clinical Nurse Specialist/Physician Assistant
Formal continuing medical education (CME) programs (i.e., Category I) or informal CME programs (i.e., Category II) are acceptable, provided that the content is pediatric specific. CME may be obtained from a pediatric specific program or course or may be a pediatric lecture from a workshop/conference. To meet Category II, teaching time needs to have undergone review and received approval by a university/hospital as Category II CME.

Registered Nurses
Continuing education may include, but is not limited to, PALS, APLS, or ENPC, continuing education unit (CEU) offerings, case presentations, competency testing, teaching courses related to pediatrics, and/or publications. These continuing education hours can be integrated with other existing continuing education requirements, provided that the content is pediatric specific.
NOTE: Online pediatric educational modules developed in Illinois can be accessed via the Illinois Department of Public Health’s TRAIN Illinois and the University of Illinois (UIC) Public Health Learning educational management systems at:

1:1 (one hour to one hour or minute to minute based on length of presentation)
Standardized pediatric education/trainings (Evidence of successful training completion is required, i.e., certification card) Advanced Burn Life Support (ABLS) Two hours
Advanced Pediatric Life Support (APLS)* 14 hours
Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) Three hours
Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course (ENPC) 15.58 hours
Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) initial/renewal completion 11 hours
AHA Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) initial completion* 14 hours
AHA Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) update (renewal)* Six hours
American Heart Association (AHA) Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) instructor*
(NOTE: PALS instructors can apply no more than six pediatric continuing education (CE) hours within a two-year timeframe, regardless of how many PALS courses they taught within that two-year timeframe)
Maximum of six hours within a two-year period
AHA Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) RQI *when all yearly modules completed. Maximum of 10.5 hours within a two-year period
Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse: Training for Mandated Reporters online training ( Two hours
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-A (SANE-A) initial adult/adolescent training Max six hours within two years
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-P (SANE-P) initial pediatric training Max six hours within two years
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner-P (SANE-P) recertification pediatric training 1:1 (one hour to one hour or minute to minute based on length of presentation)
Trauma Nursing Core Curriculum (TNCC) 1.25 hours
Trauma Nurse Specialist (TNS) course Three hours
Pediatric quality improvement (QI) meetings (Evidence of meeting attendance is required, i.e., meeting minutes) Attendance at state, regional, and hospital pediatric specific QI meetings Maximum of four hours within a two-year period

* Note: It is required that APLS and PALS courses include both cognitive and practical skills evaluation components.