Skip to main content

Measles cases are on the rise globally and here in Illinois the number is increasing as well. Vaccines are 97% effective in preventing this highly contagious disease.  To learn more about this infection and get information on vaccination, go to  Learn how to identify measles and the safe and effective vaccine that can prevent this potentially life-threatening infection for adults and children. 

Terminal Illness

Persons diagnosed with a terminal illness with a life expectancy of six (6) months or less may apply for a medical cannabis registry identification card valid for six months. There is no application fee.

If you currently have or had a 6-month Terminal Illness Registry Card, DO NOT start a Terminal Illness application. You must complete a Qualifying Medical Cannabis on-line application. Call 855-636-3688 and ask to speak to a Terminal Illness Specialist or email for assistance.

Qualifying patients (Adults and Persons under age 18)

  • Be a resident of the State of Illinois at the time of application and remain a resident during participation in the program
  • Have been diagnosed with a terminal illness with a life expectancy of six (6) months or less
  • Submit a complete on-line application
  • Make sure your Health Care Professional completes the on-line certification confirming the terminal diagnosis. The in-person physical examination must take place within 90 days of the application submission date.
  • Not hold a school bus permit or Commercial Driver’s License
  • Not be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, correctional probation officer, or firefighter.
  • Select up to three caregivers.

Veterans receiving care at a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Facility

  • Submit a copy of your DD-214 showing dates of service and character of service (type of discharge)
  • Provide a copy of your medical records from the VA facility for the last 12 months.
  • Complete the Veteran Attestation of Terminal Illness provided in the application. This form must be notarized.

Persons whose diagnosis is no longer terminal after a period of six months, and their caregivers, may submit an application for a one, two, or three-year registry identification card.