Skip to main content

Anyone 12 years of age and older is eligible for the COVID-19 vaccine.

Find your nearest vaccination location at https://www.vaccines.gov/ or call (833) 621-1284 to schedule an appointment near you.

Governor Pritzker's Executive Orders and Rules

Executive Order 2021-24 and 77 Ill. Admin. Code 690.361

On Friday, September 17, 2021, Governor Pritzker issued Executive Order 2021-241 , which clarified schools’ authority to exclude students and school personnel from school premises (including in-person instruction and extracurricular events) when students or school personnel are a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19; a close contact to a confirmed or probable case of COVID-19; or exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19. The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) also adopted an emergency administrative rule, 77 Ill. Admin. Code 690.361, to implement the Executive Order.

Emergency rules adopted in response to the COVID-19 outbreak

On September 3, 2021, the Governor signed Executive Order 21-22 which requires all individuals over the age of 2 and who can medically tolerate a face covering to wear a face covering when in indoor public places. The Executive Order also requires health care workers, school personnel, higher education personnel and students, and employees and contractors of state-owned or operated congregate facilities to be fully vaccinated, as described in the Order. Masking Frequently Asked Questions can be found here.

The following are emergency rules adopted by the Department in response to Governor JB Pritzker’s Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations and Executive Orders related to COVID-19.  These rules are effective upon filing with the Secretary of State and remain in place for a maximum of 150 days.

IDPH filed emergency rulemaking currently in effect related to the Covid-19 pandemic for the following Parts in relation to Governor JB Pritzker’s Executive Order 2021-22:

  • 77-250:  Hospital Licensing Requirements;
  • 77-295:  Assisted Living and Shared Housing Establishment Code;
  • 77-300:  Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code Emergency Amendments;
  • 77-300:  Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code Emergency Amendments to Emergency Rules;
  • 77-330:  Sheltered Care Facilities Code;
  • 77-340:  Illinois Veterans’ Homes Code;
  • 77-350:  Intermediate Care for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code;
  • 77-370:  Community Living Facilities Code;
  • 77-380:  Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Facilities Code;
  • 77-390: Medically Complex for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code; and
  • 77-515:  Emergency Medical Services, Trauma Center, Comprehensive Stroke Center, Primary Stroke Center and Acute Stroke Ready Hospital Code.

Control of Communicable Diseases Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690)

Statutory Authority:  Communicable Disease Report Act [745 ILCS 45] and Department of Public Health Act [20 ILCS 2305]

These emergency amendments are adopted in response to Governor JB Pritzker's Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations issued related to COVID-19.

Section 5-45 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/5-45] defines "emergency" as "the existence of any situation that any agency finds reasonably constitutes a threat to the public interest, safety, or welfare."  The COVID-19 outbreak in Illinois is a significant public health crisis that warrants these emergency rules.

This rule amends Section 690.10, Definitions, to delete the terms "Isolation, Modified" and "Quarantine, Modified" and to revise the definition of "Quarantine."  This rule also amends Section 690.361, Coronavirus, Novel, including Coronavirus Disease 19 (COVID-19), Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), and Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome (MERS) (Reportable by telephone immediately (within 3 hours) upon initial clinical suspicion of the disease), to provide detailed procedures for handling the occurrence of COVID-19 in schools.  Additionally, the rule amends Section 690.1380, Physical Examination, Testing and Collection of Laboratory Specimens, to clarify that nothing in that Section limits the ability of schools, employers, or other institutions to conduct or require physical examinations and tests.  Further, the rule amends Section 690.1385, Vaccinations, Medications, or Other Treatments, to clarify that nothing in that Section limits the ability of schools, employers, or other institutions to require vaccinations.

Effective September 17, 2021

Education and Cultural Resources (23 Ill. Adm. Code 6)

Mandatory Vaccinations for School Personnel Emergency Rule Part 6 supports schools and school districts in implementing Executive Order 2021-22, which requires all school personnel to either be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or undergo at least weekly testing. Per the Executive Order, school personnel must be fully vaccinated or tested at least weekly by September 19, 2021. The emergency rule provides schools and school districts clarity to implement the Executive Order, and support to help protect the health and safety of students, school personnel, and their broader communities during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Effective September 17, 2021

Control of Communicable Diseases Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690)

The State Department of Public Health has general supervision of the interests of the health and lives of the people of the State. As part of that general supervision, the Department has jurisdiction to address dangerously contagious or infectious disease outbreaks to protect the health and lives of the people of the State. The Department shall take means it considers necessary to restrict and suppress dangerously contagious or infectious diseases, especially when existing in epidemic form. (Section 2(a) of the Act).

The Department shall have the general authority to delegate to certified local health departments the duties and powers under those Acts it is authorized to enforce for the purpose of local administration and enforcement. 20 ILCS 2310/15.

In order to restrict and suppress the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 that causes the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), a dangerously contagious and infectious respiratory disease in the form of a pandemic or epidemic, which is spread person to person in respiratory droplets released by a person infected with the disease, the Department implements the following restrictions and requirements:

Any individual who is over age two and able to medically tolerate a face covering (a mask or cloth face covering) shall be required to cover their nose and mouth with a face covering when in a public place and unable to maintain at least a six-foot social distance. This requirement applies whether in an indoor space, such as a store, or in an outdoor space.

Any business, service, facility or organization open to the public or employees shall require employees, customers, and other individuals on the premises who are over age two and able to medically tolerate a face covering to cover their nose and mouth with a face covering when on premises and unable to maintain at least a six-foot social distance. Businesses, services, facilities or organizations that offer food or beverages for in-person consumption may permit employees, customers, and other individuals to remove their face coverings while eating or drinking, but must require face coverings at all other times. Businesses, services, facilities or organizations that take reasonable efforts to require patrons and employees to wear a face covering shall be in compliance with this subsection. For retail businesses, reasonable efforts to comply with regard to customers shall be determined based on the totality of the circumstances and include, but are not limited to: posting signage requiring face coverings to be worn on the premises; providing face coverings to customers; giving verbal or written warnings to customers who are not wearing a face covering to inform them of the requirement to wear a face covering when on the premises; requesting verbally or in writing that customers leave the premises if not wearing a face covering; and making available reasonable accommodations for individuals who are not able to medically tolerate a face covering.

Effective January 3, 2021

Control of Communicable Diseases Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690)

The Department has jurisdiction to address dangerously contagious or infectious disease outbreaks to protect the health and lives of the people of the State, and is using that authority to establish restrictions to slow the transmission of COVID-19.  This rule requires people over age two who are able to medically tolerate a face covering (a mask or cloth face covering to cover their nose and mouth) to use a face covering when in a public place and they are unable to maintain at least a six-foot social distance.  This requirement applies whether in an indoor space, such as a store, or in an outdoor space.  Any business, service, facility or organization open to the public or employees shall require employees, customers, and other individuals on the premises to cover their nose and mouth with a face covering when on premises.  This requirement also applies to all schools and day care facilities.

This emergency rule also prohibits gatherings of more than 50 people (or gatherings of 50% or more of a building’s maximum occupancy if 50% of a building maximum occupancy is less than 50 people).

Effective August 7, 2020

Control of Communicable Diseases Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690)

This rulemaking adopts standards for the control of cases and contacts for Coronavirus, Novel, including COVID-19, Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS), and Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome (MERS).  This rule includes reporting requirements for laboratories that provide tests for screening, diagnosis, or monitoring. Additionally, the rule has provisions that require that persons who have tested positive for one of these diseases isolate themselves at home.

The Department has also proposed identical proposed amendments to adopt these standards.

Effective August 3, 2020

Emergency amendment to this rule adopted July 14, 2020

This rule amends the Department’s requirements for a long term care facility’s infection control policies and procedures.  The rule adds new incorporated materials from the CDC to address COVID-19 infection control and strikes the requirement that facilities must comply with infection control recommendations provided by the Department or their local health department

Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 Ill. Ad. Code 300)

This rule requires long term care facilities to add testing for infectious diseases to the facility’s infection control policies and procedures.  Facilities must comply with infection control recommendations provided by the Department or their local health department and must test residents and staff when they have either an outbreak in the facility or when the chain of transmission is high and the Department directs them to conduct testing.  Test results must be reported to the Department.

Effective May 28, 2020

Control of Communicable Diseases Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 690) This rule was repealed on May 20, 2020

The Department has jurisdiction to address dangerously contagious or infectious disease outbreaks to protect the health and lives of the people of the State, and is using that authority to establish restrictions on functions of businesses that risk transmission of COVID-19.  These restrictions will be reviewed by the Department in coordination with the different stages of the Restore Illinois plan and the latest public health guidance and metrics.   

Effective May 15, 2020

Assisted Living and Shared Housing Establishment Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 295) 

This rule temporarily suspends the provision regarding the expiration of a facility’s probationary license and the provisions regarding annual on-site visits, except in cases when resident health and safety is at risk, and for allegations of abuse or neglect, because of the Department’s limited abilities for surveys during the COVID-19 crisis.

Effective May 5, 2020

Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 300)

This rule temporarily suspends the requirement that certified nursing assistants successfully complete a Department-approved training program within 120 days after the date of initial employment, and the requirement that developmental disabilities aides or DSPs submit required documentation in accordance with Section 350.663 within 120 days; however, it does not suspend the requirement that these individuals be able to demonstrate competency in their jobs. The rule also suspends provisions related to issuance of probationary licenses and certain Department on-site investigations and surveys, except for allegations of abuse or neglect.

Effective May 5, 2020

Sheltered Care Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 330)

This rulemaking suspends facility inspections in Section 330.140(c) and Section 330.150(g), the requirement for probationary licenses in Sections 330.140(b) and 330.150(f), annual inspections pursuant to Section 330.200(a), and the 30-day timeframe for an inspection arising from a complaint unrelated to allegations of abuse and neglect in Section 330.4310(f).

Effective May 5, 2020

Illinois Veterans’ Homes Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 340)

This rulemaking clarifies that when conducting on-site investigations and surveys, the Department will minimize the impact on facility activities, while ensuring facilities are implementing actions to protect the health and safety of residents, staff, and other individuals in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Effective May 5, 2020

Intermediate Care for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 350)

This rule temporarily suspends the requirement that developmental disability aides, including those individuals serving as direct support persons (DSPs), successfully complete a Department-approved training program within 120 days after the date of initial employment, and the requirement that developmental disabilities aides or DSPs submit required documentation in accordance with Section 350.663 within 120 days; however, it does not suspend the requirement that these individuals be able to demonstrate competency in their jobs. In addition, this rule temporarily suspends the provision regarding the expiration of a facility’s probationary license and the provisions regarding annual on-site inspections and surveys, except in cases when resident health and safety is at risk, and for allegations of abuse or neglect, because of the Department’s limited abilities for surveys during the COVID-19 crisis.  The rule also suspends the provision regarding transfer or discharge of a resident due to late payment or nonpayment.

Effective May 5, 2020

Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 380)

This rule temporarily suspends the provision regarding the expiration of a facility’s provisional license and the provisions regarding Department on-site investigations and surveys, except in cases when resident health and safety is at risk, and for allegations of abuse or neglect, because of the Department’s limited abilities for surveys during the COVID-19 crisis.

Effective May 5, 2020

Medically Complex for the Developmentally Disabled Facilities Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 390)

This rule temporarily suspends the requirement that developmental disability aides, including those individuals serving as direct support persons (DSPs), successfully complete a Department-approved training program within 120 days after the date of initial employment, and the requirement that developmental disabilities aides or DSPs submit required documentation in accordance with Section 390.663 within 120 days; however, it does not suspend the requirement that these individuals be able to demonstrate competency in their jobs.  This rule temporarily suspends the provision regarding the expiration of a facility’s probationary license and the provisions regarding annual on-site investigations and surveys, except in cases when resident health and safety is at risk, and for allegations of abuse or neglect, because of the Department’s limited abilities for surveys during the COVID-19 crisis

Effective May 5, 2020

Long-Term Care Assistants and Aide Training Programs Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 395)

This rule allows for a new classification of healthcare worker – the Temporary Nursing Assistant (TNA).  The TNA position has been developed in conjunction with industry stakeholders to allow for additional staff in their facilities.  This rulemaking also suspends the requirement that Basic Nursing Assistant Training Program students pass the competency examination within 12 months after they complete the program.

Effective April 21, 2020

Hospital Licensing Requirements (77 Ill. Adm. Code 250)

This rule suspends portions of the hospital licensing requirements in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and establishes standards and licenses for temporary alternate care facilities. These facilities may be run either by a licensed hospital or by the State of Illinois through one of its agencies or in cooperation with one or more federal or local government bodies.

Effective April 16, 2020

Adverse Health Care Events Reporting Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 235)

This rule suspends all requirements of the Adverse Health Care Events Reporting Code in response to the COVID-19 pandemic

Effective April 17, 2020

Hospital Report Card Code

This rule suspends all requirements of the Hospital Report Card Code in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Effective April 17, 2020

Health Care Worker Background Check Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 955)

This emergency rule temporarily amends the provisions of the Healthcare Worker Background Check Code to require an individual to have their fingerprints collected within 30 days (increased from 10 working days) after being hired.

Effective April 10, 2020

Emergency Medical Services, Trauma Center, Comprehensive Stroke Center, Primary Stroke Center and Acute Stroke Ready Hospital Code (77 IAC 515)

In order to address Emergency Medical Service (EMS) staffing needs this rulemaking: authorizes Clinical Nurse Specialists to work in  hospital emergency departments designated as an Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (EDAP), Standby Emergency Department Approved for Pediatrics (SEDP) or Pediatric Critical Care Center (PCCC), in order to afford hospitals more flexible staffing options; helps reduce hospital staffing costs by permitting nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists and physician assistants to provide backup coverage during critical situations; expands the scope of the pediatric intensive care unit committee to include advanced practice providers; clarifies the role and qualifications of Pediatric Clinical Nurse Specialist; clarifies the role and qualifications of the Pediatric Clinical Nurse Expert as a member of the pediatric intensive care unit leadership team; expands the types of minimum training requirements of the Pediatric Clinical Nurse Expert to help alleviate staffing shortages and minimize costs; and updates the equipment list to reflect current medical standards.  

Effective April 10, 2020

School Based/Linked Health Centers (77 Ill. Adm. Code 641)

This emergency rule extends the current certifications for school-based/linked health centers whose certifications are scheduled to expire before June 30, 2020.  The rule extends the certification for 150 days from the current expiration. In addition, it ensures that school based/linked centers can remain operational, able to provide necessary services to the communities they serve, and eligible to obtain Medicaid reimbursement. While schools are closed now some these centers continue to provide services. Without the emergency rule, the certification for some school-based/linked health centers would expire and their ability to receive Medicaid reimbursement would be in jeopardy.

Effective April 2, 2020

Plumbers Licensing Code (68 Ill. Adm. Code 750)

This emergency rule extends the deadline for plumbers’ license renewals, apprentice plumbers’ license renewal, and plumbing inspectors’ certificate renewals 150 days to August 28, 2020.

Effective March 31, 2020

Lead Poisoning Prevention Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 845)

This emergency rule extends the license and certificate renewal deadlines for lead services, including lead inspection, lead hazard screen, lead mitigation and lead abatement work and supervision. It also allows lead case management and environmental risk assessments to be conducted through phone consultation when possible.

Effective March 31, 2020

Asbestos Abatement for Public and Private Schools and Commercial and Public Buildings in Illinois (77 Ill. Adm. Code 855)

This emergency rule extends license renewal dates for the asbestos program.

Effective March 31, 2020

Private Sewage Disposal Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 905)

This emergency rule extends license and certification renewal dates for portable sanitation businesses and technicians..

Effective March 31, 2020

Home Health, Home Services, and Home Nursing Agency Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 245)

This emergency rule suspends the requirement that a registered nurse conduct a supervisory visit to a patient’s or client’s residence.  The emergency rule will allow for the supervisory visits to be conducted via electronic or telephonic means, if available

Effective March 25, 2020

Hospital Licensing Requirements (77 Ill. Adm. Code 250)

This rule allows hospitals to increase their bed capacity or re-allocate bed designations between clinical services to accommodate extraordinary needs in the service population due to the COVID-19 pandemic without prior authorization from the Department.   

Effective March 25, 2020

Long-Term Care Assistants and Aide Training Programs Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 395)

This rule allows for military personnel with medic training to serve as CNAs and allows CNAs who have been certified or licensed in another state to work in Illinois during the duration of the disaster proclamations. 

Effective March 25, 2020

Health Care Worker Background Check Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 955)

This emergency rule temporarily suspends the provisions of the Healthcare Worker Background Check Act that prohibit an individual from being hired to work as a CNA if they have been inactive on the Department’s Health Care Worker Registry (“Registry”)(225 ILCS 46/33(g) and that limit conditional employment of CNAs to three months pending the results of finger-print based criminal history record checks (225 ILCS 46/33(l)). 

Additionally, this rule allows for military personnel with medic training to serve as CNAs and allows CNAs who have been certified or licensed in another state to work in Illinois during the duration of the disaster proclamations. 

Effective March 25, 2020