Designated Caregivers

Most designated caregivers are family
members or persons who are close to and

trusted by the registered qualifying patient.

The designated caregiver can purchase
medical cannabis on behalf of the patient.

Designated caregivers may also prepare
medical cannabis for use by the patient —
for example, breaking up the cannabis
flower for vaporization, which may be
difficult for a registered qualifying patient
diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis or
affected by Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Designated caregivers may transport
medical cannabis on behalf of the
registered qualifying patient. Medical
cannabis should be transported in a locked
container (e.g., a locked briefcase or
suitcase) in the trunk of the vehicle.
Medical cannabis should never be
transported in the passenger area of a
vehicle.

The registered designated caregiver and
qualifying patient should always carry their
medical cannabis registry card.

Where Can | Learn More?

About Us

The IDPH Office of Health Promotion,
Medical Cannabis Registry Program
implements and oversees the patient
registry program which provides qualifying
patients access to cannabis for medical
use. Program-related materials including
applications and physician education
resources is available at
http://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/
prevention-wellness/medical-cannabis.

Contact Us

Phone: 1-855-636-3688

Email: dph.medicalcannabis@illinois.gov
Web: www.dph.illinois.gov
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Illinois Medical Cannabis
Registry Program

On August 1, 2013, lllinois enacted the
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis
Pilot Program Act (“Act”), Public Act 98-
0122. The Medical Cannabis Patient
Program (MCPP) allows persons who are
diagnosed with a qualifying debilitating
medical condition to register with the
Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH)
in order to obtain access to cannabis
(marijuana) for medical use.

An individual diagnosed with one or more
qualifying debilitating conditions is eligible
to apply for a medical cannabis registry
identification card. The qualifying patient
must obtain a written certification from a
physician specifying their debilitating
condition, unless they are a veteran
receiving health services at a VA facility.
Veterans must submit one year of medical
records from the VA facility where they
receive services.

The Act is effective until July 1, 2020.

What is a designated caregiver?

In a general context, a “caregiver” is simply
a person who provides assistance to
someone who is seriously ill, injured, or
disabled, whether mentally, physically, or
both. In lllinois, a registered designated
caregiver can assist the registered
qualifying patient with the use and
purchase of medical cannabis. A registry
identification card is required to enter a
medical cannabis dispensary.

To qualify for a designated caregiver
identification card, an individual must:

e Be aresident of the State of Illinois at the
time of application and remain a resident
during participation in the program;

e Serve only one registered qualifying
patient;

e Be at least 21 years of age; and
e Pay an application fee.

Persons who have been diagnosed with six
months or fewer to live by a licensed
physician, qualify for a free Terminal Iliness
Registry Card and may designate a
caregiver free-of-charge.

A qualifying patient under 18 years of age
may identify two designated caregivers.
There is no fee for the first designated
caregiver.

Caregivers are allowed to retain their CDL-
driver’s license and/or school bus permit.

Role of the Designated Caregiver

The registered designated caregiver plays a
very important role for the registered
qualifying patient. Once the designated
caregiver receives a registry card, they may
enter a licensed medical cannabis
dispensary and make a purchase on behalf
of the patient. They may also assist the
patient with the use of medical cannabis.

Ideally, the qualifying patient should select
a designated caregiver at the time of
application for a registry identification card;
but a patient can add a caregiver later.

The registered designated caregiver
cannot:

e Serve more than one registered patient;
e Use medical cannabis;

e Grow, possess, or distribute medical
cannabis; and/or

e Purchase and possess more than the
maximum amount of medical cannabis
allowed for the patient during any two
week period.



