

LEGITIMATION FORMS

If the biological parents of a child marry each other after the birth of the child, the law authorizes the State Registrar to replace the originally filed birth certificate with a new one. The new birth certificate is equivalent to one that would have been filed had the biological parents been married to each other prior to the birth of the child. Please submit all the required items, as listed below, to this office.

- 1. A certified copy of the marriage record of the biological parents must be submitted. This must be obtained from the county clerk in the county of marriage. No photocopies will be accepted.
- Each biological parent must complete his/her respective affidavit. The forms must be completed in ink or typewritten. Each form must be personally signed in the presence of a notary public. The use of white-out will cause your affidavit to be rejected.
- 3. You must complete one set of forms for each child whose birth is being legitimized.
- 4. A fee of \$15 per child is required. This includes one certified copy of the child's birth certificate. Additional copies of the same record, ordered at the same time, are \$2 each. Make check or money order payable to the Illinois Department of Public Health or IDPH.
- 5. Please submit a copy of your non-expired government issued photo ID.
- 6. Once the legitimation is completed, all documents are placed in a sealed impounded file. That file can only be accessed upon court order. You may wish to make copies of the affidavits before you submit the originals.

STOP

If any of the following situations apply to you, please contact the Division of Vital Records before completing the attached forms. Please call 217-782-6553 between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. or e-mail the division at dph.vitals@illinois.gov.

- 1. The biological parents were married before the child was born or are not married at this time.
- 2. Either of the biological parents is deceased.
- 3. There is a man other than the biological father listed on the birth record.
- 4. The biological mother was married to a man other than the biological father between conception and birth of the child (even if that man is not listed as the father on the birth record).
- 5. This child was born in a state other than Illinois.

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Division Of Vital Records 925 East Ridgely Avenue Springfield, IL 62702-2737