Gender Reassignment

Gender Change

Effective January 1, 2018, new procedures for Gender Reassignment have been established with the implementation of Public Act 100-0360

An individual born in Illinois, with an existing Illinois birth certificate, may submit an picture_as_pdfAffidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form along with a picture_as_pdfDeclaration of Gender Transition/Intersex Condition form to the Department requesting to have the gender changed on his or her own birth certificate.

The picture_as_pdfAffidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form would need to be completed in its entirety by the individual seeking a change in the sex designation on the birth certificate; the form must be signed and notarized. The applicant must be of legal age (or the parent/co-parent or guardian if not of legal age) to complete the form.

The picture_as_pdfDeclaration of Gender Transition or Intersex Condition form must be completed by either a licensed health care professional or a licensed mental health professional. This provider must stipulate, under penalty of perjury, that the person seeking a new certificate of birth has either undergone clinically appropriate treatment for gender transition or has an intersex condition.

Gender Change with Name Change

For an individual simultaneously seeking to have a name change, a certified copy of the Court Order of Legal Name Change also must be submitted to the Division of Vital Records. Please indicate on your request to have your name changed in the second section of the picture_as_pdfAffidavit and Certificate of Correction Request form.

The department will review the request and if all requirements are met, will create a new birth record reflecting the new sex designation and name change, if appropriate. The original birth certificate and all documents submitted are placed in a sealed and impounded file which cannot be opened except upon order of the circuit clerk, request of the person or as provided by regulation.

The fee is $15 and includes one certified copy of the new birth certificate. Additional copies are $2 each if ordered at the same time.