Practice Social Distancing
Pursuant to Executive Order, your employer must comply to the greatest extent feasible with social distancing requirements. This means that your employer should:
- Make sure you can maintain at least 6-feet physical separation between yourself and others around you, including your co-workers and customers.
- Mark with signage or tape 6-foot spacing for employees and customers to maintain appropriate distance from one another.
- Provide face coverings to employees, especially when it is not possible to maintain at least 6 feet of space between you and another person.
- Provide handwashing stations with soap, clean water, and single use paper towels and encourage frequent handwashing for 20 seconds or longer.
- Provide hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) and sanitizing products for employees and customers.
- Regularly clean high-touch surfaces, including doorknobs, light switches, shared equipment, toilet handles, sink faucets, and clock in/out areas.
Do Not Work if You Are Sick
You should not report to work if you are experiencing symptoms of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), which include fever (100.4° F or higher) or chills, cough, shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new loss of taste or smell, sore throat, congestion or running nose, nausea or vomiting, and diarrhea. If you are experiencing any of these symptoms, stay home and call your doctor.
If you have been a close contact to a COVID-19 case, you must self-quarantine at home for 14 days from the date of last exposure to the case.
Who You Can Contact if You Have Concerns About the Spread or Likely Spread of COVID-19 in Your Workplace
If you have concerns that your employer is not maintaining a safe and sanitary work environment necessary to minimize the risk of spread of COVID-19, contact the Workplace Rights Bureau of the Office of the Illinois Attorney General at (844) 740-5076 or firstname.lastname@example.org
If you believe that two or more employees at your workplace have COVID-19, notify your local health department (LHD). A list of LHDs can be found at http://www.dph.illinois.gov/LHD.
Pursuant to Section 25(b) of the Whistleblower Protection Act, 740 ILCS 174, businesses are prohibited from retaliating against an employee for disclosing information when the employee has reasonable cause to believe the information discloses a violation of a state or federal law, rule, or regulation.
For more information about COVID-19, including ways to protect yourself and others, visit the Illinois Department of Public Health’s COVID-19 website at https://www.dph.illinois.gov/covid19