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Important Information

Minimum EMT Licensure Renewal 
Requirements include:

1. A signed Child Support declaration, felony
conviction declaration (renewal notice).

2. A total of 60 hours of approved continuing
medical education for EMT, 80 hours of
approved continuing medical education
for AEMT and EMT-Intermediate, and 100
hours of approved continuing medical
education for Paramedic. This can also
include approved seminars and workshops
which address both adult and pediatric care.
Your EMS System may require additional
CME hours or certifications above these
minimal requirements.

3. A copy of your current cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) certification for
health care providers. (didactic and skill
evaluations are required) 

4. Approval by the EMS Medical Director
in your System. Your System contact
information can be found at: 
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/
emergency-preparedness-response/
ems/res_sysListing

Note: If you are an independent, you also must
complete an EMS independent renewal application.
Your independent renewal request will be reviewed by
the Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of
EMS and Highway Safety. The EMS independent
renewal application can be found at:
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

Illinois Department of Public Health
Division of EMS and Highway Safety
422 South Fifth Street, Third Floor

Springfield, Illinois 62701

Phone:  217-785-2080
Fax:  217-557-3481

Email: DPH.EMTLIC@illinois.gov
IOCI 17-150

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois
P.O. #3317162   16M   5/17

*An EMT who is a member of the Illinois National
Guard, an Illinois State Trooper, or exclusively serves
as a volunteer for units of local government with a
population base of fewer than 5,000 people or as a
volunteer for a nonprofit organization that serves a
service area with a population base of less than 5,000
in this State may submit an application to the Department
for a waiver of the fees for EMT examination, licensure
and license renewal. The fee waiver application shall
be submitted to the Department and approved prior
to examination, licensure, or renewal. No fees will be
refunded. Waiver forms can be found at:
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

FEE TYPE EMT-B AEMT/
EMT-I EMT-P

Examination Fee* $20* $30* $40*

Initial Licensure Fee* $45* $45* $60*

Renewal Fee* $20* $30* $40*

Reinstatement Fee* $45* $45* $60*

Reciprocity Fee* $50* $50* $50*

Duplicate License Fee $10  $10 $10

The Illinois Department of Public Health,
Division of EMS and Highway Safety, is

committed to providing quality service to all
EMS professionals licensed in the State of
Illinois.  If you have any questions regarding
your EMT license, you may contact the EMS
Licensure Staff at 217.785.2080, or visit our

website at:
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-

preparedness-response/ems
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How do I renew my EMT license if I am
affiliated with an Illinois EMS system?
Sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date on
your license, you should receive a renewal
notice form in the mail from the Illinois
Department of Public Health, Division of EMS
and Highway Safety. You may complete your
renewal online at the website listed on the form.
You must submit your continuing medical
education (CME) hours to your EMS System
Coordinator to determine if you meet the
CME requirements for renewal. For a mail in
submission, the renewal form can be found at:
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

How do I renew my EMT license if I am
an independent?
Sixty (60) days prior to the expiration date on
your license, you should receive a renewal
notice form in the mail from the Illinois
Department of Public Health, Division of EMS
and Highway Safety. You must complete this
form in its entirety and contact the Division
of EMS and Highway Safety by telephone. The
Division’s EMS Licensure Staff will then refer you
to the Regional EMS Coordinator in your area
to process an independent renewal request. 
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

What will happen if I allow my EMT
license to expire?
Once your EMT license expires, you can no
longer function as an EMT in the State of Illinois.
You will have up to 60 days from the expiration
date to meet all educational requirements, pay
your renewal fee and $50 late fee in order to
renew your license. You can have your license
reinstated within 36 months of your license
expiring through a reinstatement process. 
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

I need more time to complete my
continuing education requirements, but
my license is due to expire soon. How
can I maintain my license?
Depending on the number of continuing
education hours you currently have, your EMS
Medical Director may grant an extension of
your license. You must submit an Extension
Request Application before the expiration date
of your license. If you are affiliated with an
EMS System, you must forward the extension
application to the EMS Medical Director. If you
are an independent, you must forward the
application to the Illinois Department of Public
Health, Division of EMS and Highway Safety.
(the address is on the back of this brochure)

Note: Submitting an application is not a guarantee that
your license will be extended. Your EMS Medical
Director will be the approving authority to determine if
your license will be extended. Only one (1) extension per
four-year license renewal cycle is allowed.

www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

I will not be functioning as an EMT for a
lengthy period of time. How do I place
my license in inactive status?
You must submit an Inactive Request in order
to be placed on inactive status prior to your
license’s expiration date. If you are affiliated
with an Illinois EMS System, the request must
be submitted to your EMS Medical Director. If
you are an independent, the request must be
mailed directly to the Illinois Department of
Public Health, Division of EMS and Highway
Safety. (the address is on the back of this brochure)
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

How do I update my address on
my license?
You can change your address by logging onto
our website at:   
https://emslicensing.dph.illinois.gov/Clients/
ILDOHEMS/Private/AddressChange/
AddressLogin.aspx

How do I change my name on my license?
You may contact the Illinois Department of
Public Health, Division of EMS and Highway
Safety, in writing. (the address is on the back of
this brochure)

Note: You must provide a copy of a legal document with
name change (e.g., marriage license, divorce decree,
official court documents with the name change).

How do I apply for an Illinois EMS License
through Reciprocity?
IDPH may grant reciprocity for qualified
applicants based on the applicant holding a
current out of state license or National Registry
Certificate. Reciprocity is based on equivalent
education, testing, and scope of practice with
the applicable Illinois license. Reciprocity
applications can be submitted at any time.
However, the application must be submitted at
least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the
applicant’s Out-of-State license or certificate.
Applications for reciprocity and instructions
can be found on the Departments website at:
www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/emergency-
preparedness-response/ems/licensing

Licensing questions can be addressed
via email by writing to:
DPH.EMTLIC@illinois.gov
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